Making Something Beautiful, Discovering Something True - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Once Upon a Reader's Workshop

Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average.

Making Something Beautiful, Discovering Something True

Posted 04-11-2010 at 01:12 PM by BookMuncher

Eek! I'm so nervous! I was asked to speak at a local university's induction for a Literacy Honors Society. Me? Speak? Squeak, maybe. I write. But of course I said yes, because saying no would have just brought regrets. Because I'm not good with speaking off the top of my head, I had to write the whole thing out and then go back and outline it so that I wouldn't be looking down at my paper the whole time.

I thought I'd run it by my PT friends first. You're lucky- you get the long hand version, free of ums and flailing hand movements. But it also won't have the two videos that I'm going to show the audience. You'll have to make a mental image.

A couple years ago, I had four boys in my first and second grade classroom who were overly passionate about all things Titanic. They formed a Titanic club and their meetings consisted of them pouring over all my Titanic books. When they ran out of mine, they got all the ones they hadn’t read yet from the school library and read those. They even uncovered inconsistencies between books. For any group member who discovered something big (or for any outsider like myself who helped them by providing books) they created the much coveted Smokestack of Honor Awards. I have audio of one of the boys saying (and I quote): “All my first grade life, I have been looking for a map from Pennsylvania to the Titanic, and I finally found one in a book.”