Reflection 1 - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

teacher24

Rate this Entry

Reflection 1

Posted 07-13-2010 at 08:14 PM by teacher24

I have been teaching since 2005, and in that time I have been so busy doing that I have not been taking the time to reflect on a few things. Sure, I have always been a reflective person, but I have been thinking so much about what I need to do to help students, but I have not really been reflecting on myself and what is going to help me get through the hardships of this profession so that I can better understand and help students. This year, so much has gone on in my classroom, and now my eyes are beginning to open. I need to look more into myself and what I need to grow on as a person, to help my teaching.

Number one, I need to be more flexible. I need to take bigger risks so that I can learn what I want and what I don't want. I can't knock the idea of teaching a different grade, because I have not actually done it. I can't live through other teacher's stories and make them my assumptions.

Second, I have to learn that I can't always have things my way, then get mad at the world when things are not going my way. I need to take the career in stride. Almost like my marriage. Take the good and the bad, instead of fighting so hard to keep it all good. I have to accept the fact that nothing is all good 100% of the time.

Third, I have to learn how to take the seemingly bad and work around it to still accomplish my goals. Flexibility is my personal goal for myself this year.