Dreams and Nightmares - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

DREAMS AND NIGHTMARES

I am a third grade teacher in Virginia. I began teaching 6 years ago through a career teacher's program. Teaching was always a dream of mine, and some days are still dream days, but sometimes, teaching just feels like a nightmare.
Old

Summer coming to an end?

Posted 08-14-2011 at 06:25 PM by PrivateEyes

I just got back from a fifteen day excursion through some of Americana. There were some places I wanted to see that seemed to be essential sights for my bucket list. We saw Mt. Rushmore, Yellowstone/Old Faithful, and the Grand Canyon, and a petrified forest. On the way back, we stopped to see a reproduction of the Parthenon in Nashville. Along with time spent with the family, it was an awesome vacation. A day spent resting, and tomorrow I will start setting up my classroom. I don't officially start back for two weeks, but other than this fifteen day vacation, I have done something school related almost every day this summer. Is that good or bad? I'm not sure.
Old

Funny every year!

Posted 04-03-2011 at 01:14 AM by PrivateEyes

So, Friday, April 1st, I wrote down the homework assignment.

Reading: Read for 20 minutes. Record in Reading Log.
Writing: Write a 3 page story about the best present you ever recieved.
Science: Find 10 simple machines in your home. Identify the simple machine and its state of matter.
Social Studies: Write a report on Greece, Rome or Mali. Include illustrations.

Sternly, I reminded the students that there is no talking in the morning as they write down their homework assignments and begin morning work. As they finished writing down their homework, I went to each student, as I do each morning, to initial their planner. But Friday, instead of initials, I wrote down "April Fools!" and, after making sure they saw what I wrote, quickly shut their notebook.

Things I find funny, and charming.