ProTeacher Community

ProTeacher Community (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/index.php)
-   Substitute Teachers (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Is consistency always a good idea? (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/showthread.php?t=612132)

dietcoke99 11-21-2018 02:25 PM

Is consistency always a good idea?

I'm in kindof a weird predicament, that I didn't see coming.

I have a degree in science and taught science for many years. At the beginning of the year I emailed all of the science t's and told them who I was, my background, etc.

I spoke a lot to this one teacher, who said that she was going to be out a lot this year (health and meetings), and wanted me to sub for her.

We talked about how, especially since she would be out a lot this year, it would be better for the students b/c they would have continuity in that they would have the same sub every time. It was good for me because I love to "talk science," and can do it 24 hours a day.

I could (and have) added interesting information (at least *I* thought it was interesting lol). I have even brought stuff from home when I knew what the topic would be.

I talk to her often and feel like I know her well. Many times I sub for her just the last 1/2 and I talk to her all lunch in her room.

It seemed like a good idea and a win/win situation, at the time. [ut. oh].

I truly like to do something special/noteworthy/etc. for each period. Personal stories that relate to the topic, if nothing else, but whatever I can do to make it more memorable for them, and more interesting for me.

All had been going well when I had a TERRIBLE time with this one period. There were only, maybe 5-7 students who were respectful and doing the assignment, most were goofing off with their friends and disrespectful to myself and the other students who were doing what they were supposed to do.