ProTeacher Community

ProTeacher Community (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/index.php)
-   Magnolia Room (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/forumdisplay.php?f=58)
-   -   Too much talking! (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/showthread.php?t=284735)

afmom2boys 09-14-2010 11:28 AM

Too much talking!

I've been using the RC approach for 4 years now. I am at it alone in a school of PBS... everyone here is constantly having to give prizes for expected behavior (and there are no consequences- everything we could do has now been taken away).

My classroom children know that when one person is talking everyone else should listen. We have modeled it and I remind them many times each day. (We have been in school 10 weeks now.) However the talking persists. They will interupt me whenever they feel like it. I can hold my hand up until I am blue, but if they have something to say they're going to do it. I have about 10 children out of 22 that are like this.

What would be a logical consequence to this? Any suggestions are dearly welcome!

Mrs. R :) 09-14-2010 12:38 PM

A couple of questions...

Have you introduced the Take a Break chair?

Do you have them leave the carpet area (if that is where instruction\interruption take place)?

Have you had a problem-solving conference with any othe interruptors?

I have more ideas, but I was wondering what strategies you've already used so I can give you some new thoughts...

rSquirrel 09-14-2010 04:56 PM

Were you sitting in my circle today?

I was just coming on to post about this exact thing!