ProTeacher Community

ProTeacher Community (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/index.php)
-   BusyBoard (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Other Adding spice to parent night at school (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/showthread.php?t=385648)

camp823 01-03-2012 12:41 PM

Adding spice to parent night at school

Hello All-
I would love to bounce some ideas off of your creative brains. I am a GT teacher for grades 1-4. Each year we do an involved research project that takes several months to complete. The kids select a topic and we train them on how to research and present the material. The students make a tri fold board of their information and we have a special night at school for the parents to come view their projects. In the past it has been just a gallery of their work and the parents come walk around and look at the different projects. The students are required to stay the entire hour but are finished looking at all of the projects in 20-30 minutes. I wanted to spice up the night a little by doing something fun with the info from the projects and make it a little more interactive. I've thought about doing a "Smarter Than a GT Student" game show type thing. The questions would come from the info from the project and parents could participate, but I don't know how to make it work with 30-40 students AND their parents. I've also thought about making a scavenger hunt with questions from their projects and they would have to move throughout the projects and actually read the info to find the answer. Help! What are some ideas you all have to help our parent night become more "spicy" and not so "bland".

yesteach 01-03-2012 01:05 PM

Our night

is much the same. We use the TPSPs, first grade has done the Kindergarten art project and the animal research, second did biographies, third has rotated through the math, toy business, and enigmas (from fourth) and Fourth has done the quilt (fifth) and We Are Texans.