ProTeacher Community

ProTeacher Community (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/index.php)
-   New Teachers (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Other How personal do you get with your students? (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/showthread.php?t=564115)

3rdGradeSafar 08-02-2016 07:24 AM

How personal do you get with your students?

Hi there! Newbie here, going to be teaching third grade.

Just one quick question, I am not married but do have a boyfriend of over 5 years. He plans to help out in my classroom during his free time, and during the first day of school the kids will get a worksheet where they try to guess some facts about me as bell work, then I'm making a getting to know me PowerPoint with the answers and pictures. The first question is, is your teacher married? Can I/should I say no but I do have a boyfriend. His name is Mr. --- and you'll be seeing him when he comes to help out in our classroom? Is that too much private info to tell the kids? How would parents respond to that?

KT_203 08-02-2016 08:48 AM

I usually just said that I wasn't married even though I had a serious boyfriend. He did come to some school events with me and I live close to the school I work at so we occasionally would run into kids/ families out and about so they definitely knew. I guess I just never really brought it up but it was out there. Once I got engaged I was more open about it. Just my personal thought.

Gogogo 08-02-2016 12:02 PM

Perfectly fine

No problem saying you have a boyfriend and having him work in the classroom -- but be prepared for the kids wanting to know when are you getting married, why aren't you married, and do you live together (your boyfriend needs to prepare for those questions too -- and lots of personal questions about you).

Those areas should stay private.

Betty4567 08-02-2016 01:05 PM