ProTeacher Community

ProTeacher Community (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/index.php)
-   High School (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Art | Music | Drama French teacher (http://www.proteacher.net/discussions/showthread.php?t=592518)

broad 10-15-2017 08:29 AM

French teacher

Are there any French teachers out there?

I have just started tutoring a sophomore in 2nd year French. I'm a retired teacher - general education elementary mainly but know and love French.

She needs practice being able to write several paragraphs about a subject and general conversation.

I thought I would ask her to write several sentences that I say in English and she writes in French.

I would ask her questions in French and she has to answer in French.

Any ideas? I've never tutored before. I'm also going to take an advanced class myself so I can get help from my teacher.

TAOEP 10-20-2017 11:56 AM

Expectations??

To me, being able to write several paragraph sounds like a huge task for the beginning of 2nd year language. I would start by front-loading vocabulary and "stock phrases" that would be useful in talking about a very limited subject. (What do you do in the morning before school? What is your favorite season and why?) After talking about the prompt, then you could ask the student to write a few sentences, basically putting on paper what the two of you had just said.

You could use a photo or a drawing and name the things in the picture and then talk/write about them.

You might try dictating a few sentences in French and having her write them down (practice with French spelling, breaking sounds down into words, etc.).