Special Education

Selective mutism

>

puzzled

puzzled

Selective mutism
Old 01-19-2006, 09:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a Resource teacher of a 6th grade student who has been diagnosed last year as a selective mute. He also has severe anxiety. When with his friends or family, he appears to be a normal little boy, but when he goes into the classroom, he completely shuts down. For a long time, he was thought to be just severly shy. Due to these problems, he has gotten extremely behind in his academics. He cannot do the work of most 3rd grade students. We are told that it will not help him any to be retained. Does anybody have any experience and suggestions for children like this?

Joan

Joan

Old 01-20-2006, 11:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Dear Puzzled:

I belong to a support group for parents and teachers of children with anxieties, many of which are selectively mute. The situation you are describing is one which we are beginning to see. As many of our children "shut down" during the early years in school, much of the foundation for reading, writing and arithmetic is not mastered. Some of our older children have been diagnosed with a receptive/expressive learning disorder but today, these parents are beginning to believe their children do not have this learning disorder. Instead, they believe there is a "hole" or "gap" in their child's knowledge caused by their extreme distress and anxieties which prevented the child from learning.