Do you implement your own rules in a long term sub position? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Substitute Teachers

Do you implement your own rules in a long term sub position?

>

jlgelitz

jlgelitz

Do you implement your own rules in a long term sub position?
Old 07-04-2013, 09:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a new teacher (graduated this May) and, unfortunately, I may have to sub for the upcoming school year if I can't get a full time teaching job. I was given the opportunity by a school district to take over for two teachers who are going on maternity leave in September/October and January/February. My question is: in situations like this where you are the teacher for a long period of time, do you stick with the teacher's behavior management plan, attention getters, etc. or do you implement your own? I'm just wondering because I feel more confident with my plans and I feel I would be more consistent but I don't know how the teacher would feel about it when she comes back from maternity leave. If it makes a difference, the grades I would be subbing for would be 2nd and 3rd. Thanks!

3leggedtable

Old 07-04-2013, 04:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think for September/October you could implement your own behavior plans. But for January/February you should stick with the teacher's behavior management plan. By December the students are already use to her ways/procedures. JMTC.

Good luck.
3leggedtable is offline   Reply With Quote

nicpen

It really depends on the time of the year --
Old 07-04-2013, 04:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3