Substitute Teachers

Aesop?

>

Googiebump23

Aesop?
Old 08-19-2013, 11:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone,

I'm new here but not new to subbing. I've been subbing in the same district for 9 years now. I recently got an email saying that our district will start using Aesop for sub calling. We will have an informational meeting this Thursday.

What is your experience with Aesop as opposed to being called by the school secretary, principal, etc? Also, can you think of any issues I should bring up at the meeting?

Thanks!

Tammy

Googiebump23 is offline   Reply With Quote

beachPatty

I. Love. Aesop.
Old 08-19-2013, 12:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I sub in several districts and all but one use Aesop. What do I love about it? It enables me to fill up my schedule ahead of time for the most part. I still have some days where it ends up being the early-morning call, but I can mostly avaoid that now.

I can often see what's available and CHOOSE which job I'd like to take.

The one district that still uses a sectretary - I hate the way she does things - she'll just call and say "are you available?" before she tells me what job it is.

I also feel like Aesop levels out the playing field. Some teachers ask for their favorites all the time. Yes, there is the Preferred Substitute option on Aesop (in fact, I'm listed as that for several teachers), BUT - after a while, if the person hasn't responded, it becomes open to everyone.

When I started subbing 3 years ago, only one of my districts used Aesop - I keep hoping that last one gives in and makes the switch!
beachPatty is offline   Reply With Quote

LynneLC

My town doesn't use Aesop but...
Old 08-19-2013, 12:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3