Help

Substitute Teachers

Waiting for a Call

>

cpenner

Waiting for a Call
Old 08-19-2013, 01:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Someone recently posted about how they get ready in the morning whether or not they have a job lined up hoping for the phone to ring for a job. I've also heard of other people doing this

I've never gotten ready if I haven't had a job lined up and so far I haven't seen this as a problem (and I've been subbing for 5 years). Sometimes it makes for a very rushed morning and I'm grabbing a granola bar to eat in the car on the drive to a school or I've walked in late before because I got called too late or the drive was long. I find that USUALLY I get called early enough to not feel too rushed.

So I was wondering... do you get ready on the days that you don't have a job lined up?

cpenner is offline   Reply With Quote

Mom4boyz

Absolutely Not!
Old 08-19-2013, 02:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have kids to get to school so If I don't have a job by 6 I don't get ready. If someone calls me personally and I want the job I will go, but will tell them I will be there at whatever time. They will get the class covered until I get there. :-)
Mom4boyz is offline   Reply With Quote

beachPatty

Old 08-19-2013, 03:14 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

No, I don't. I agree that most call early enough. And if it's last-minute (not their fault, someone called in sick) they understand if you're a little late and just have someone cover till you get there. I think in 3 years, though, this has only happened to me twice.
beachPatty is offline   Reply With Quote

Mercury

Yes
Old 08-19-2013, 03:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

It's not like I'm going to lay in bed all day or sit around the house nude (I don't wear pajamas). If I don't get an assignment for the day I still get up and get dressed and get on with my day. I always have things to do and/or places to go.
Mercury is offline   Reply With Quote

grav_def

Old 08-19-2013, 03:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5