Washer won't spin? - ProTeacher Community




Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help


      Teachers' Lounge


Washer won't spin?

>

Reply
 
Thread Tools
BioAdoptMom3 BioAdoptMom3 is offline
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 66,763
Senior Member

BioAdoptMom3
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 66,763
Senior Member
Washer won't spin?
Old 09-05-2014, 06:37 PM
  #1

I have been using our washer a lot today. It is a Maytag. I had an area rug in there (not a real big one) and it is sitting in the rinse water right now, not making any attempt to move on to the spin cycle. Anyone ever have this happen? What did you do to remedy it, or am I am going to probably have to call our appliance man?

Thanks!

Nancy


BioAdoptMom3 is offline   Reply With Quote

GraceKrispy's Avatar
GraceKrispy GraceKrispy is offline
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 38,073
Blog Entries: 1
Senior Member

GraceKrispy
 
GraceKrispy's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 38,073
Senior Member

Old 09-05-2014, 07:04 PM
  #2

It is almost always one of two reasons when my washer won't spin.
1. the plug jiggled loose
2. the load is unbalanced

if you have an area rug in there and it's not really big, and it's the only thing in there, it's probably out of balance, and the washer won't spin if it recognizes that. Out of balance washers get scary I might try putting some towels in there to counter balance so there is even weight all around the washing (assuming it's a top loader) and see if that helps.
GraceKrispy is offline   Reply With Quote
ms.gteacher's Avatar
ms.gteacher ms.gteacher is offline
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,888
Senior Member

ms.gteacher
 
ms.gteacher's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,888
Senior Member

Old 09-05-2014, 08:19 PM
  #3

Try the suggestions. It could be the belt. A few months ago, mine wouldn't spin, my dad bought a belt, and put it on. Easy fix, just have to turn move the washer so you can get to the belt. Mine works fine now, and only cost thirty bucks.
ms.gteacher is offline   Reply With Quote
multigrade's Avatar
multigrade multigrade is offline
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,749
Senior Member

multigrade
 
multigrade's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 11,749
Senior Member

Old 09-06-2014, 04:28 AM
  #4

If the above doesn't work, start the agitation again. When it 'clicks' and doesn't start draining, stop it and try spinning the knob all the way around and back to that spot again and start again. My machine is older and sometimes it doesn't 'click' right. It's very frustrating. Hope it's working by now!
multigrade is offline   Reply With Quote
giver1940's Avatar
giver1940 giver1940 is online now
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,198
Senior Member

giver1940
 
giver1940's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,198
Senior Member
The lid is down, right?
Old 09-06-2014, 05:29 AM
  #5

Mine won't spin if the lid is up. There's a place on the right hand side of the edge around the top of the tub and if you push the button down that's in there, it will work with the lid up. Does that make sense? It could also be the timer, I think.


giver1940 is online now   Reply With Quote
grtlaks's Avatar
grtlaks grtlaks is offline
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 849
Senior Member

grtlaks
 
grtlaks's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 849
Senior Member

Old 09-06-2014, 06:38 AM
  #6

My front loader did this this summer when the load was too heavy. The door wouldn't unlock either. I googled it and found it needed to drain the water out before I could unlock it(even though I couldn't see water). I was able to do that and start it over. I was ready to call the repairman!
grtlaks is offline   Reply With Quote
LonghornKate's Avatar
LonghornKate LonghornKate is offline
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,418
Senior Member

LonghornKate
 
LonghornKate's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 1,418
Senior Member

Old 09-06-2014, 09:35 AM
  #7

Did you get it back on track, Nancy?
LonghornKate is offline   Reply With Quote
BioAdoptMom3 BioAdoptMom3 is offline
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 66,763
Senior Member

BioAdoptMom3
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 66,763
Senior Member

Old 09-06-2014, 05:26 PM
  #8

Thank you all so much! Unfortunately we have been unable to get it going again and started smelling a very faint burning odor last night waiting for it to start up again (which of course it never did). We have a great appliance man who is always very honest, and its a newer Magtag, so hopefully it will be an easy fix this coming week!

Nancy
BioAdoptMom3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Renea's Avatar
Renea Renea is offline
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 11,679
Senior Member

Renea
 
Renea's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 11,679
Senior Member

Old 09-06-2014, 06:13 PM
  #9

Good luck with repairing your machine, Nancy. I've stopped washing heavy loads in my machine due to your same issues. In fact I even reduce the "big" loads. Our machine isn't new and it protests heavy loads. I don't want to face purchasing a new one.
Renea is offline   Reply With Quote

Join the conversation! Post as a guest or become a member today. New members welcome!

Reply

 

>
Teachers' Lounge
Thread Tools




Sign Up Now

Sign Up FREE | ProTeacher Help | BusyBoard

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:00 PM.

Copyright © 2019 ProTeacher®
For individual use only. Do not copy, reproduce or transmit.
source: www.proteacher.net
8