Well, it's cool again, but... HVAC - ProTeacher Community




Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help


      Teachers' Lounge


Well, it's cool again, but... HVAC

>

Reply
 
Thread Tools
teacherwriter teacherwriter is offline
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,902
Senior Member

teacherwriter
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,902
Senior Member
Well, it's cool again, but... HVAC
Old 09-01-2019, 12:48 PM
  #1

Our digital thermostat lost its brains at some point last week. We suspected it, but weren't sure until yesterday, when it was displaying all sorts of weird numbers. So the service guy came out today and replaced it. While he was here, we had a discussion about our HVAC system, which is 20 years old. His company had originally installed it, and it's done a great job, but we figured it would be about time to replace, and he confirmed that after a quick inspection. Another reason to replace is the ban on R-22 refrigerant. Turns out the EPA has banned R-22 effective 1/1/2020. A/C units that were made and installed before 2010 likely use R-22. You can't use the new, approved refrigerant in the old systems because of technical issues. So, apparently the option is...a new A/C unit. Had you heard about this? When I googled it, it popped right up, so I believe the tech.


teacherwriter is offline   Reply With Quote

1956BD's Avatar
1956BD 1956BD is offline
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 25,602
Senior Member

1956BD
 
1956BD's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 25,602
Senior Member
Thank you for this information
Old 09-01-2019, 01:01 PM
  #2

I was not aware of this change. The house we bought in 2016 was built in 1990. Now I need to see if the HVAC is newer than 1990.
1956BD is offline   Reply With Quote
chalkdusty's Avatar
chalkdusty chalkdusty is offline
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,973
Senior Member

chalkdusty
 
chalkdusty's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,973
Senior Member

Old 09-01-2019, 01:05 PM
  #3

So...if I understand correctly, every HVAC unit in the country that was installed prior to 2010 will need to be replaced when it needs a recharge of refrigerant? I suspect there will be long wait times to get new units.
chalkdusty is offline   Reply With Quote
ZipLine's Avatar
ZipLine ZipLine is online now
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 6,084
Senior Member

ZipLine
 
ZipLine's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 6,084
Senior Member

Old 09-01-2019, 01:23 PM
  #4

Yep! Thatís accurate. We had a new 2 stage system installed this spring. It was time as we were having some problems with the old one. I have to say we like the new system so much it was worth the pain of the expense. Our house is cooler at a higher setting and our electric bills have been so much lower!
ZipLine is online now   Reply With Quote
teacherwriter teacherwriter is offline
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,902
Senior Member

teacherwriter
 
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,902
Senior Member
ZipLine
Old 09-01-2019, 02:04 PM
  #5

What's a 2-stage system? Guess I need to do some research!


teacherwriter is offline   Reply With Quote
ZipLine's Avatar
ZipLine ZipLine is online now
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 6,084
Senior Member

ZipLine
 
ZipLine's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2009
Posts: 6,084
Senior Member

Old 09-01-2019, 04:45 PM
  #6

This explains. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=RcgjlGgYI5o
ZipLine is online now   Reply With Quote
Haley23 Haley23 is offline
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,463
Senior Member

Haley23
 
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 6,463
Senior Member

Old 09-01-2019, 04:55 PM
  #7

Quote:
So...if I understand correctly, every HVAC unit in the country that was installed prior to 2010 will need to be replaced when it needs a recharge of refrigerant? I suspect there will be long wait times to get new units.
Is this really true? That seems pretty crazy to me. If it is true, won't we see the price sky rocket due to how many people are needing the new units? Supply and demand and all.
Haley23 is offline   Reply With Quote
jmb jmb is online now
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 735
Senior Member

jmb
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 735
Senior Member

Old 09-01-2019, 06:36 PM
  #8

This is true. My Dh is a hvac guy. The refrigerant won't be available after the new year. What he gets now is very expensive (as he calls the old stuff). I do believe you can use the new stuff in an older unit but the system has to be switched over. He says it your unit is 20 years old you got your money's worth as most don't last that long. I'd tell you more but he's in bed.
jmb is online now   Reply With Quote

Join the conversation! Post as a guest or become a member today. New members welcome!

Reply

 

>
Teachers' Lounge
Thread Tools




Sign Up Now

Sign Up FREE | ProTeacher Help | BusyBoard

All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:31 AM.

Copyright © 2019 ProTeacher®
For individual use only. Do not copy, reproduce or transmit.
source: www.proteacher.net
7