ARCHIVE

teacher's portfolio

>

amyf

amyf

portfolio
Old 01-01-1970, 12:00 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

A portfolio should reflect the best of the 23 years. Think Scrapbooking!! Make it lively. Smiling kids. List your accomplishments. Show ways you have changed the lives of your children and your school. I update mine every two years and I take some things out and put some new things in. It is just a reflection of you. SO make a list of what you think is important and include that. Create sections. Reading, Math, Science, Extra Activities and compile it in such a manner.

mss1

mss1

teacher's portfolio
Old 04-08-2006, 09:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Help -- What all should be included in a portfolio. I have been teaching for 23 years - so how much do I put in it????

Bonnie gr. 2

portfolio
Old 04-09-2006, 10:57 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

My student teacher has to attend a seminar through her college. The person running it is a local superintendent. The college wants a portfolio but he sees them as having a limited value since most superintendents don't really have time to look at them.
Bonnie gr. 2 is offline   Reply With Quote

pkjw

Depends on what you plan to use it for?
Old 04-09-2006, 05:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

If your main purpose of the portfolio is to have something for parents and administration to browse in your room, then go the scrapbooking route and have fun with it!

However, if your reason for having a portfolio is to market yourself to schools and districts then you want it well organized, professional and concise. It is a marketing tool. The interviewer should be able to flip through it and gain insight as to who you are as a teacher and what you can do. Mine has sections. Each section has a cover sheet with 1-2 sentences explaining what is in the section. I included
*my resume
*a couple of major projects/lesson plans from each grade taught
*classroom management forms
*grants ~copies of grants I've been awarded