Second Grade

Drowning

>

hawkeyegirl

Drowning
Old 09-28-2011, 09:14 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi Everyone,
I feel like I'm drowning in school work...meetings, assessments, online data entry, piles on my desk, communication with parents, behavior plans. There are so many things I want to do in my classroom with reading, writer's workshop, math...so many things I want to get better at, but I never have the time. I have bought so many professional books, and the pile just sits there because I'm exhausted at night. I've been teaching for 22 years and it's hard job that I love, but right now I'm just so tired. What do you do when you feel like this? How do you focus in on just a few things to work on/try in your classroom? Thanks for listening.

hawkeyegirl is offline   Reply With Quote

ar719

ditto...
Old 09-28-2011, 02:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am a "veteran"/older teacher and feel the same. More expected, huge class, and I never get to the bottom of everything. Maybe we all expect too much of ourselves.
ar719 is offline   Reply With Quote

teach1975

too much
Old 09-28-2011, 02:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

It is so overwhelming-just doing the "basics" is difficult!! It is sad, I still try to integrate some "fun"things in, but it gets more difficult every year. The last 3or 4 have been the worst. I, too, have many years experience, wish the pendulum would swing back to something more reasonable for students and teachers!!
teach1975 is offline   Reply With Quote

Barb/Ohio

Overwheled!
Old 09-28-2011, 03:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I could have written your email! I have been teaching 22 years as well and feel like I am always 3 steps behind!
Barb/Ohio is offline   Reply With Quote

kamehameha

drowning
Old 09-28-2011, 03:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

You are not alone. I have been a teacher for 18 years. I try to get better and better at my job. I have a master's degree and keep up with what research says about teaching children, but I am drowning also.