Substitute Teachers

Question for Special Ed Subs

>

SpecEdSub

SpecEdSub

Question for Special Ed Subs
Old 12-15-2017, 01:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a fairly new substitute teacher in my fifties. I have a condition that prohibits me from lifting disabled children, for example, from the wheelchair to the toilet. I don't want to take a Special Ed assignment in which I will have to refuse to help the teacher lift someone. Can someone share with me which of these Special Ed classes I should avoid because of the lifting issue: Moderate Intellectually Disabled (IQ 35-49), Orthopedically Impaired, Specific Learning Disability, Traumatic Brain Injury, Significant Developmental Delay, Autism Levels 1 and 2. I appreciate any feedback you can give.

SubMan

Old 12-15-2017, 04:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Check with the district where you plan to sub.

I sub special education all the time and have never had to do anything physical with a student; lifting them, changing diapers, and so on. Any student that requires this has always had an aide that was specifically trained.

The only special ed classes I try to avoid is emotional support; when a child's reaction to something is way over the top as in their pencil broke now it's World War III.
SubMan is offline   Reply With Quote

Sirsubalot

Old 12-15-2017, 07:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have subbed in a few hundred special ed classes and have never be required to physically handle a student in any way.
If the class in moderate to severe, an aide , or usually three, will handle these tasks.

On one occasion, I was left alone with a few M/S students in wheel chairs because the school was short on aides that day.

This is probably illegal, but I did not report them.

I called for an aide from another class to help with the changing.
Sirsubalot is offline   Reply With Quote
SpecEdSub

SpecEdSub

Thanks for the Feedback
Old 12-16-2017, 06:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4