Substitute Teachers

Long Term Sub position is KILLING ME

>

sciencelvr16

sciencelvr16

Long Term Sub position is KILLING ME
Old 09-18-2018, 01:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am seriously considering quitting a long term sub position after one week.
A little background: I graduated with my BS in Biology 6 months ago (Iím only 22) and I landed this gig at a small middle school that needed a science teacher. I am not credentialed, so they hired me as a long term sub. There is no curriculum, so textbook, the kids are mean and out of control, and no one has even checked on me in the 7 days that Iíve been here. I seriously feel like I was thrown into the ocean with no life raft.
I donít have any pedagogy under my belt and these kids need someone who seriously knows what theyíre doing.
Am I making the right choice?

OH; and they gave me PE! FOR THE WHOLE SCHOOL.

mooba1

Old 09-18-2018, 03:15 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Am I reading this correctly? You are teaching Science AND PE? Wowzers, never heard of that, but you did say it was a small middle school.

Itís unacceptable and irresponsible that no one has checked on you in 7 days, and that lack of concern is compounded by not having curriculum or textbooks. How do they expect to hold these kids accountable to the standards if you donít even know what youíre supposed to be teaching?

I would go to the principal and tell him/her you need help. ASAP. It boggles the mind...they have offered you nothing in the way of support, a mentor teacher, training, etc.? Let me guess. That would be a no.

IMO, I think you need to talk to the P and give him/her a chance to rectify the situation post-haste. If no assistance is forthcoming, then by all means, put this school in your rear view mirror.
mooba1 is offline   Reply With Quote

kahluablast

Old 09-18-2018, 06:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I interpreted that the poster has a science degree, and she is long term subbing in PE. Definitely not what you would expect.