Help

Substitute Teachers

Classroom Pets

>

luv2teach2017

Classroom Pets
Old 10-07-2018, 07:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'd like to hear from others on this subject. I don't mean pets as in "favorite students." I mean animals being kept as pets in the classroom.

Don't get me wrong. I am an animal lover from way back and have always had pets at home. In fact, when I was a kid, my 4th grade class had a pet guinea pig named "Squeaky." The students would take turns bringing him home for the weekend. My family enjoyed Squeaky so much that we got our own pet guinea pigs.

But as a guest teacher, I've found classroom pets can be very problematic, especially when the regular teacher is out for several days. Take for example, the 1st grade class I subbed a couple of days for. The teacher had been out for a week due to illness, with a few different guest teachers filling in. There was no lesson plan, and things were running amok. But the worst part was that there was a large pet water turtle that I hadn't even noticed till my 2nd day.

The turtle was languishing in an overly small aquarium full of filthy water. The kids kept pouring turtle food into the water, which made it even murkier. The turtle had a platform to climb on, but it had collapsed, so the turtle couldn't even get out of the dirty water. I was so overloaded by the task of handling the class that I forgot about the animal until I got home. I assumed the regular teacher was returning the following day, but it really bothered me that this poor creature was left to suffer.