Help

Substitute Teachers

recent graduate looking for subbing advice

>

mahannah

recent graduate looking for subbing advice
Old 07-22-2009, 01:08 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I graduated in May with a degree in Early Childhood Education. Unfortunately, the job market in Georgia is very slim and it doesn't look like I'll be getting a full time position this year. I am still waiting to hear back about several supply positions. I am also planning on getting on the sub list in a couple of my local counties.
Here is my concern:
How do I make myself stand out above all the other subs? I will be the "newbie" and I don't want to get lost in the shuffle. I've noticed several people talking about business cards, but I'm wondering how to get them to the teachers since I have no experience in the schools. Should I mail them? Is it appropriate to hand deliver them to the secretary? I'm just not sure what the best course of action is.
Thanks for any advice you can give!

mahannah is offline   Reply With Quote

read4riel

Old 07-22-2009, 01:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I left my teaching position at one school to finish grad school. That year I subbed. I did make cards (magnetic ones are great because they can stick them on file cabinets, etc.) and I did hand deliver them. I will tell you this about subbing in our school. The subs that show up time and time again, do a great job, and we see all the time are the ones that are asked first. The girl that did her student teaching last year is the favorite sub at our school. Everyone calls her first and she was asked to do an interim position for one of our teachers. Our job positions are slim as well. Our county has been laying off teachers so she's still subbing. I know the more you are seen and liked, the more likely you'll eventually get a position even if it's interim. So apply where you want to teach and sub there as much as possible!!!
read4riel is offline   Reply With Quote

4turtle

business cards
Old 07-22-2009, 07:43 PM