High School

So scared to start my first year

>

NewTeacher214

NewTeacher214

So scared to start my first year
Old 08-16-2015, 04:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi! I am a week away from starting my first year of teaching. I am teaching 9th grade English at a school that's only 10 minutes from my house (yay!). I have ZERO teaching experience excluding one-on-one tutoring and I received my alternative certification. I was initially feeling a bit nervous but mostly excited about starting, but now I am dying of anxiety and I already feel like I can't do it and I haven't even started! Let me give you some background info.

I am 22 years old and just graduated college in May. My main goal has always been and still is to teach English (maybe even Developmental English) in college. Since this was always what I envisioned, I never thought to worry about discipline problems in my classroom. However, now that I'm teaching 9th grade, I am very well aware that I will have to be a firm classroom manager. I'm just so worried! Any advice for someone who has no idea how to manage a classroom with roughly 25 students at a time? I will have around 170 students overall.

Here are my rules and consequences I've made. I made them pretty broad so that my students won't try (or at least won't succeed) to weasel their way out of a consequence. If there is anything that you think would work better, just let me know and I will definitely consider it!!!
Classroom rules
1. Walk in quietly and begin working on your Bell Work
2. Respect yourself and others by using appropriate language
3. Come to class every day prepared and ready to learn
4. Pay attention and donít interrupt the teacher or classmates
5. Turn off personal electronics before entering the classroom

Classroom consequences
1. Verbal warning
2. Reflection essay and student-teacher meeting
3. Detention and a call home
4. Official office referral