Help

ARCHIVE

5th grade and Valentine's Day

>

luvbug

5th grade and Valentine's Day
Old 02-01-2010, 08:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year in 5th grade and I am not sure what to do about Valentine's Day. Do they still exchange Valentine's? Do they make pockets out of construction paper to put them in? I know this sounds petty but I just am so used to the younger kids and not sure what to do for 5th graders.
I would love your help.
Thanks!

luvbug is offline   Reply With Quote

teachlove76

Old 02-01-2010, 02:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

They may still want to exchange valentines, you could ask them and see if they want to or not. If not maybe you can find a craft or some puzzles they can do during the day to celebrate Valentine's Day.
teachlove76 is offline   Reply With Quote

Lisa B

valentines
Old 02-01-2010, 02:34 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I teach fifth and my kids always exchange valentines. They don't all bring them, but I'd say 3/4 do. I have them decorate a paper lunch sack to hold the valentines. We don't make a huge deal out of the day, but they still enjoy it.
Lisa B is offline   Reply With Quote

Sam5

Old 02-01-2010, 02:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I give them a white lunch bag the week before the party. I tell them to decorate the bag, and we will have a contest. One of the things I do at the party is give out prizes for different catagories. Some of my catagories are most artist, most creative, funniest, best fits the student. The boys even like this because they like the funny and best fits catagories. I often have camouflage or basketball bags.