Help

Writing & Language Arts

So how do you teach reading & writing

>

Crazydaz

So how do you teach reading & writing
Old 10-03-2012, 08:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a brand new teacher at a small school with no resources or reading/writing program. They have chapter books and not sure what to do with it. I know there are tons of books out there and I hope this isn't a silly question, but how do you teach it? Where do you get prompts from? What works and doesn't work? I know there are books that give you structure, but where do you start? Many people say do a mini lesson and then centers, but what kind of minilesson? I'm feeling lost as a new teacher since I wad expecting textbooks bit not having them I feel like I'm falling apart and need lesson ideas. I teach a 4th and 5th grade combo and ANY suggestions would be appreciated.

Crazydaz is offline   Reply With Quote

1956BD

Reading
Old 10-05-2012, 06:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

First, I would find books a little above their reading level that you think they will enjoy hearing. This way you only need one book. Then read aloud to them each day and discuss what you have read each day. I would choose a variety of genres so they learn about different kinds of books. I would start this time of year with a fantasy titled The Monster's Ring. It is a great Halloween read. You can discuss what makes a fantasy a fantasy. This book also has a lesson to learn about bullying, so this will make for good discussion and you can also talk about author's purpose. Perhaps the author, Bruce Coville, meant for this book to do more than entertain.

Look at this link for ideas about reading strategies. In my opinion it is a good resource.

http://reading.ecb.org/