Help

Classroom Management

Middle School classroom management advice please

>

amathona

Middle School classroom management advice please
Old 02-24-2019, 02:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

My background is elementary ed. I subbed in everything. Then got into middle school. I have a master's degree, and have been at this long enough that I'm officially 10+ years of experience.

But these last two years have been hell.

I don't know which came first, the hell, or the anxiety and depression, but they certainly aren't making it easier to be patient with my sixth graders. Somewhere along the way, we've had a breakdown in respect.

All three of my classes are talkative. First and third block are terribly disrespectful for guest teachers too - counselors doing lessons on respect, media coordinator doing lesson on digital literacy, etc.

But when 3-4 of the main instigators are out (suspended, usually), it's so so so much more manageable! First block they were all late the other day from breakfast.... everyone listened to directions... it was bliss.

I need some middle school specific ideas for classroom management. What kinds of things have you tried? What can you do with students who argue with basic directions like "sit down" (Student yells, "I am!" Teacher *thinks*... uh, no you're not, you're standing around talking........)

amathona is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 02-25-2019, 12:15 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Procedures. Procedures. Procedures.

Now, sixth graders, IMO, are a whole other animal than seventh and eighth. I am not certified for sixth, so I have had few years with only one or two classes of them. Iíll have to say I donít like them. Ours come to us not knowing how to acclimate to the freedom of middle school, so the whole team has to be on the same page for getting them trained. That can be tricky. One weak link, and it is over.