Primary Grades (K-2)

I need help! I need an advice!

>

coco13

I need help! I need an advice!
Old 10-16-2014, 02:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello!

I am a student teacher in first grade and I have a child who never wants to listen or pay attention. She never wants to do her work either. She gets easily distracted too. My teacher and I always have to repeat things to her. We already moved her up a level, meaning she has been on the warning spot on the behavioral chart. We have also been raising our voices, but not in a mean way, just to get her attention because she is not following directions. After all this, her behavior still hasn't changed. What are other things I can do for the child to listen or pay attention? Her behavior is a everyday thing. Please Help!!

coco13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Elmsprings

Hmmm....
Old 10-16-2014, 02:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Have you tried some sort of reward system?

Have you been able to talk with her kindergarten teacher? She/he may be able to add some insights/ suggestions? What worked well with her last year?

I wonder.....Has her hearing been checked?
Elmsprings is offline   Reply With Quote

SCS89

Old 10-16-2014, 04:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

After you give a direction, have you asked the child to repeat it back to you? Then ask the child, "Show me how you..."

Can you break the task down into smaller parts? When one part is finished, positively reinforce the effort. Then add another part.

Have you tried moving the student close to you?

When working with a pencil/paper assignment, have you tried pointing on her paper to where her eyes should be looking? Positively reinforce when she attends to where you are pointing.

Is there some type of action/movement that you can pair with the lesson that reinforces your objective?

Consider that some children have difficulty with hearing, vision, and/or processing. The child may need to be screened.
SCS89 is offline   Reply With Quote

gardener5

behavior plan