Help

Gifted Education

Substituting for gifted

>

Katie4242

Substituting for gifted
Old 01-22-2015, 03:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello! I am a first year substitute teacher. My daughter is enrolled in a gifted magnet school, and I only sub at her school, mostly for the gifted classes. So far I've thoroughly enjoyed guest teaching the students and have developed a great relationship with the teachers. My Aesop calendar is filled regularly, but sometimes I can't believe I get paid to do this!

Anyway, enough gushing. Like I said, I've had the best time substituting for the gifted classes. However, this week I've had a four-day assignment in a fifth grade class that's left me feeling a bit out of sorts. I've subbed once before for this class and had nothing but good things to say about them. They were a perfect class. And they seemed to like me, too. In fact, their teacher flagged me down back in December to take this assignment.

After being with them for four days, I have to say I have a slightly different opinion of them. I still like them very much and would definitely sub for them again, but I don't think my approach is working as well as it did the first day I was with them. I'm thinking it's because they know me now and have come out of their shell a bit. And I'm left not knowing quite how to relate to them. They're the oldest gifted kids in the school and of course are very intelligent, sophisticated thinkers. They're also independent self-starters and extremely hardworking.