The VENT

No math textbook

>

Expateach

No math textbook
Old 12-02-2010, 05:32 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi.
I am a Grade 5 homeroom teacher teaching internationally. I have 14 students. I have 2 copies of their math textbook. I am supposed to use that and photocopy when necessary. The lack of colour photocopying sometimes makes exercises not doable.

I was going to ask my administrator to purchase enough texts for all. Is this a reasonable request or are teachers these days not using textbooks?

Looking forward to hearing from you out there.

Expateach.

Expateach is offline   Reply With Quote

Suezie

Old 12-02-2010, 06:18 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Do you have access to any type of technology? If you can scan a page from the textbook, you can project it on a screen using a computer hooked up to a projector. Before we had smartboards, we would project a page onto the whiteboard and write on it, and around it. You can't save your work like you can with a smartboard but it was better than a lack of textbooks.

We do use textbooks. I believe it is part developing reading skills (informational text). However, I have 8 math textbooks for a class of 23. Our series came with a disk that has the textbook on it. I don't have to scan anymore. I also print off certain pages from the disk. They are not in colour though.
Suezie is offline   Reply With Quote

newbieteach

Old 12-02-2010, 06:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I think it is ridiculous that you only have 2 textbooks for your whole class. We have enough textbooks for each student. I didn't realize that I should be thankful that we do. I thought that was just something that was a necessity. I do not think it is asking too much to have textbooks.
I guess you could scan and project them but I find that the students pay attention more when they actually have a copy. Also, I am guessing you do not assign work from the textbook either. I sometimes assign homework.