Help

First Grade

Go Math!

>

Chubra

Go Math!
Old 12-06-2011, 05:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Is anyone out there using Go Math in first grade? My school just started using it this year and my first graders seem lost! The strategies presented to teach addition and subtraction seem too complicated for the children to grasp. Anyone experiencing similar problems? Help!

Chubra is offline   Reply With Quote

bocalopez

Go Math
Old 12-06-2011, 05:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

We started Go Math last school year. The children need a LOT of practice! They do get it and grasp the concepts quicker. We are in our second year and the class moves through the chapters very quickly. If you have access to computers, use the website as reinforcement. Have Fun!
bocalopez is offline   Reply With Quote

TeachingAll

Go Math
Old 12-06-2011, 05:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

UGH!!! It is my first year with this new series as well. I really dislike it. It's not the concepts I have a problem with, but how they present them. The "Make 10 to Add" strategy is one of the most poorly thought out topics in the book so far. I feel like there was not enough thought put into the process of presenting the material to the kids. Did they rush just to be common core compliant? There must be a better way!!!
TeachingAll is offline   Reply With Quote

Chubra

Old 12-06-2011, 05:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I agree. The concepts are pretty basic, it's the way the children go about demonstrating understanding that is confusing! We are working on Chapter 4 and the children had to make a ten to subtract! It was really a lesson about counting up. Why the confusion? And the bar models!!!! Any suggestions would be welcome.

rusty

Be selective
Old 12-07-2011, 02:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5