Help

Daily 5

Daily 5 without CAFE

>

Nassau Native

Daily 5 without CAFE
Old 07-25-2012, 01:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, I am a 2nd Grade teacher, and I plan to implement the Daily 5 in my class this year. However, I am not sure if I want to begin CAFE, as I am also going through the National Board process and I feel that it would be too much. Your thoughts and suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Nassau Native is offline   Reply With Quote

rSquirrel

Old 07-25-2012, 03:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You can just do Daily 5. CAFE is the conferencing part and teaching of readng strategies. Daily 5 is the structure and management part. Most people start with Daily 5 and then add in CAFE when they feel they have a good structure down. I didn't add CAFE until my second year doing Daily 5.

Don't feel you have to do it all at one time!

I would recommmend starting Daily 5 and get it going really great and then look at CAFE.
rSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote

Nassau Native

Thank you
Old 07-25-2012, 07:09 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Thank you so much for replying to my post. That helped to ease my fears quite a bit! I'm glad to know that I can take it slowly until I get more familiar with the Daily 5. Your site is amazing, and very helpful! Thanks again!

dkgbb

Old 07-26-2012, 04:47 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I LOVE your website. I was on it for about 2 minutes and then just had to tell you! I have been trying to create my own check in system and have not been able to come up with anything that I like. I LOVE how you have your kids check in and make their choices for the day in the morning! Did you create your own word wall and labels for book boxes? Do you have those available? Now I will be going back to your website after I post this for more great ideas!
dkgbb is offline   Reply With Quote

rSquirrel

Old 07-26-2012, 07:51 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5