Help

The VENT

Probably going to get fired again

>

Wanderlusty

Probably going to get fired again
Old 02-10-2020, 03:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm currently in my second year at a great private school in an unfamiliar region of the US. I moved to a different grade level because of a recommendation from admin. I see now it is a mistake.

As of right now, I am on a progress improvement plan with my contract hanging in the balance. I am so tempted to quit teaching and move back home with parents with my tail tucked between my legs. I am really thinking teaching isn't my calling. Despite students adoration and positive parent feedback, I am always butting heads with some admin or coworker who just wants things done their way.

I respect my colleagues but I seem to get matched up with someone to gets easily frustrated with me. The first year at this school, the teachers didn't quite get along with me. This year is my first time in a co-teaching model. As my first year in a new grade, my co-teacher is expected to do most of the hand holding for a number of reasons. However, as of the past couple months, she has been very critical of my teaching, saying I taught math wrong or taking over any subject area she can. Yet she will tell me she has never worked this hard in a co-teaching model before (considering she has always worked with older, veteran teachers).

I'll admit my lessons the past month weren't great. However, I apparently can't make mistakes with this coworker, who aspires to perfection. I feel as caught between a rock and hard place as the beginner who has no clout and a poor reputation.

And now my principal has caught wind of this and now I am under careful watch. I have to write lesson plans every week, due Friday, along with weekly informal observations.

I could also just be not good at my job and a difficult person to work with.

I probably will end up telling them I won't return, nor ask for any letters of recommendation.