Help

Fifth Grade

1st Year Teacher

>

Kalandra5th

1st Year Teacher
Old 07-04-2011, 05:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher for the 2011-2012 School Year. I want to gain control of my classroom from day one, but still be fair, consistent, and successful in teaching. Any suggestions? I have read books, read/view different websites, but nothing is preparing me for what I will face the first day of school. I have dreamed of becoming a teacher and now that this first day is approaching, I am anxious and scared.

Kalandra5th is offline   Reply With Quote

5thReadingte

5thReadingte

Old 07-04-2011, 05:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hey,
I am in the same boat as you. First year teacher teaching 5th grade. I feel very prepared and have worked all summer on stuff. It will be neat to see how my ideas go down with students I have never met.

MPage

practice, practice, practice
Old 07-04-2011, 06:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

You must have students practice what you expect from them. This will be my 10th year teaching and that is the biggest key I have found. I have taught 3rd grade and 5th grade and both ages must know what you expect and practice doing it the right way. You can NEVER spend too much time practicing routines and procedures.
Good Luck!
MPage is offline   Reply With Quote

GiantSubs

Fifth graders are a great group
Old 07-05-2011, 03:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

They are still young enough to want to please the teacher, but old enough to be able to work independently!