Converting back to teaching, I need your help! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Career Decisions

Converting back to teaching, I need your help!

>

Converting

Converting

Converting back to teaching, I need your help!
Old 12-17-2009, 02:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

To all teachers, I need your help please! I am converting back to teaching... I have my degree in elementary education K-8 with endorsements in self-contained general education, mathematics, and language arts. After graduating college in 02', I substitute taught for a year during the day and served at a restaurant at night (had to do something else to pay the bills as subs do not get paid much). After a year of subbing I was so frustrated I started to look into other job fields. For the last 2-1/2 years I have been working sales at a company. I am so tired of working a desk job, entering data into a computer, and the b.s. that comes with the corporate world. I know my passion still lies in teaching and I am finally ready to do *whatever* it takes to land my dream job. I have updated my license and become a substitute with CPS (Chicago Public Schools) and surrounding districts as even substitute teaching is hard to get in Chicago. I am planning on quitting my business job come January (next month) and pursing teaching full time.

As of now, I will start with the substitute teaching in hopes to get my face and name within some school. Any other advise on how to find a full time teaching job and/or simply get an interview? Any resume advise on do's and don'ts? All advise is appreciated

Suspended

Driven2BG

Suspended

Old 12-18-2009, 08:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Don't quit your day job! It may be boring but it pays the bills. Here is what I would do:

1. Volunteer in C.P.S.; Mentor a child, tutor at an elementary school during lunch, etc.