Help

Career Decisions

Advice needed (kind of long!)

>

beaker&bunsen

Advice needed (kind of long!)
Old 04-20-2010, 11:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello, I'm writing hoping for some good advice from teachers and other career changers! I graduated college with a B.S. in Chemistry and minor in Mathematics a few years back. At the time I considered teaching, but ended up working in a laboratory and really enjoyed the experience. A few years later was looking to get out of the lab and an opportunity teaching laboratory science in a middle school development program overseas came my way. I've really enjoyed working with middle school aged students and teaching a variety of topics in science and math. The job has also given me exposure to the clerical and PR sides of teaching. I feel like a career in teaching is a really good fit for me, but I'm trying to work out how to transition to teaching once I return home.

I've been considering either obtaining a master's degree once I return home or starting an online certification program while I am here. The certification program just adds some education credits to my subject bachelors to meet the qualifications for the Pennsylvania state license (which is transferable to my home state). The program I'm considering is through Drexel University. Potentially, I could complete the coursework online this summer and fall, do my student teaching the spring, and be qualified to teach the following fall. Does anyone have experience with this or a similar program? What do you think the best path is for getting a job in the current market? I'm not against getting a master's, I'd think I'd get more out of a program once I have more teaching experience...Thanks so much for any words of wisdom you can offer!

beaker&bunsen is offline   Reply With Quote

multigrade

Old 04-22-2010, 04:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi Beaker&bunsen. (Love your name!)
I just wanted to welcome you and say we have a little in common.