Career Decisions

First Year Teacher's Thoughts

>

firstyearinst

firstyearinst

First Year Teacher's Thoughts
Old 03-19-2011, 11:37 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a first year teacher who, like perhaps many in my generation, spent time getting a degree (or two) and then found the job market devoid of options. Teaching has always been something that has interested me, and I've always enjoyed school. After teaching abroad I had the opportunity to substitute teach and decided pursuing a teaching career, believe it or not, would be economically viable and fulfilling. Despite all the "hoops" to jump through it has been a very rewarding experience so far. Part of that might be that my expectations were pretty low. Making a ton of money isn't a priority, and the idea is that instead of going into a class room with expectations of student's prior knowledge, I would just see what they knew and what could help them. There are definite concerns I have regarding our educational system, but I believe the only way to change them is to do that from within the system. Student motivation, and relevance is number one on that list. Teaching in Asia was a huge eye-opener for me. If our students are motivated to learn there's very little we as teachers can do to persuade them. Family involvement is necessary for success. I think it's very important for the school to honestly approach their student's education, not create some fantasy-land where the skills taught are only applicable to school. There are so many aspects of the school system that are out of sync with life in the real world which begs for bridging that divide. The focus in education is definitely on standards based testing, AYP and other data driven processes. What's lost is the understanding that who we are teaching are real human beings, who will grow up and need to contribute to society. The more we as teachers can focus on the human interaction and promotion of individual empowerment in the classroom, ultimately the be