HELP - New to Social Studies and Terrified! - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Social Studies

HELP - New to Social Studies and Terrified!

>

SSguest

SSguest

HELP - New to Social Studies and Terrified!
Old 07-28-2011, 03:20 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi. I am new to teaching Social Studies, and frankly I am a little worried about it. My memories of Social Studies classes growing up are not positive. I remember alot of round-robin reading and then answering the textbook questions that corresponded to the reading. I remember constantly being bored in Social Studies. Now that I will be teaching Social Studies, I know that I do not want my class to be like this but I do not know how to go about teaching Social Studies any other way. I thought I could possibly use powerpoints for some of the topics, but I don't want to just show slides everyday, either. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! (This is at the middle school level). Thanks!

Dr Seuss fan

Ss
Old 07-28-2011, 06:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Can you be more specific on your subject matter....Ancient World Hist, Us Hist, geography,etc ???

Meanwhile, check out Mr Donn's website and pppst.com.

mrsb12247

Welcome to SS!
Old 07-28-2011, 06:31 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Social Studies at the middle school level is awesome! There are so many hands-on, partner, and small group projects you can do. There so much that you can do with this age other than the textbook.