Help

BusyBoard

Behavior system for pull-outs

>

PEPteach

Behavior system for pull-outs
Old 08-10-2022, 02:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my 2nd year in an elementary interventionist role. Last year I struggled a bit with motivation, responsibility (short hw assignment) and some behaviors. I feel like these kids need an extra boost when they come see me. I'd like to have a true behavior system. As a classroom teacher, I was against extrinsic rewards and quite honestly didn't need a classwide behavior system after my first few years. However, this feels different.

Any suggestions? My backup is a class money system where they earn "money" that they can use to cash in for a little prize, but I'm not crazy about giving out junky toys.

Singvogel

Old 08-10-2022, 02:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Depending on what your admin will allow, I find that being able to eat a healthy snack while working, getting to wear a hat or hood inside (only works if your dress code says no hats or hoods inside), or getting some special seating like a pillow are things my sixth graders love to earn.

Keltikmom

Behavior system
Old 08-10-2022, 04:54 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I was never a fan of the class money system. Always felt it was instant recognition for best behavior. Kids had to wait for shopping day.

So I used the penny chart system. It was a small pocket chart. I used masking tape to split it in two and also to put each child’s name on each little pocket.

When a child did something wonderful,kind, unexpected, smart, etc., they got a penny. Sometimes I would give the whole class a penny for doing something terrific like cleaning the room quickly or for a good lesson. (Which insured the “problematic kids” would also earn pennies.)

Once you earned 5 Pennie’s, you immediately (or as soon as we could) got to go to the treasure box and pick something out. It was stuff from Oriental Trading.