This information makes me realize that I am not as dumb as I sometimes feel - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

This information makes me realize that I am not as dumb as I sometimes feel

>

jazzer

This information makes me realize that I am not as dumb as I sometimes feel
Old 08-13-2022, 11:55 AM

It is silly, but sometimes I feel inadequate because I only have a bachelor’s degree and did not get a masters degree.

My husband read an article today that said that only 35 percent of US adults have a four year bachelor’s degree. It also claimed that 50 percent of the US adult population can not read above a 6th grade level.

I guess my mere bachelor’s degree is not bad since 65 percent of adults don’t even have that.

I remember when I worked as a newspaper reporter years ago before I started teaching, I learned that I needed to make my articles simple and at a third grade level because that is where the majority of readers were at. It made me feel better to know that as someone who minored in journalism and was writing the articles, I was definitely above that level.

I guess another point is that just because a person does not have a bachelors degree or masters for that matter, does not mean he or she is not intelligent enough to get one. There are many factors that cause people not to continue their education such as finances or life circumstances.

I guess I will remember all of that that next time I am around a group of people who all have masters degrees and I have to think about my mere bachelor’s degree.

jazzer is offline   Reply With Quote

PEPteach

Old 08-13-2022, 12:04 PM