Help

Bulletin Boards & Classroom Themes

I'm thinking of a swamp theme......

>

mommy2two

I'm thinking of a swamp theme......
Old 05-28-2008, 04:44 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new teacher this year and I'm thinking of a classroom theme. I thought about a "swamp" theme b/c our school mascot is the Gators but I'm having trouble with it. I thought for swamp I'd have frogs, dragonflies, alligators, turtles, cattails, etc. I'm finding a lot of frog things but not swamp things. Should I just go with frogs??? Help!!

mommy2two is offline   Reply With Quote

Weezer

I Love The Idea Of The Swamp
Old 05-29-2008, 05:31 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would look into some of the rainforest stuff because it has a lot gators and stuff. You could make trees out of carpet tubes and use stuffed gators around the room. Cattails and decorative grasses would be awesome. Don't just look at typical school decorations.....use you imagination and go with it.. I think it sounds very cool.
Weezer is offline   Reply With Quote

stretchberry

When I read the title of your post...
Old 05-29-2008, 10:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

...I thought, "a swamp???!!!" But, after reading your description, I think it sounds like a really cute idea. Maybe you can start with mostly frogs (since there are lots of ready-made frog items) and transition to more diversity when you have time to find and make other items.
stretchberry is offline   Reply With Quote

jesnacc

I live in the SWAMPS
Old 05-29-2008, 11:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

of Louisiana that is! I used the swamp/Louisiana theme when I taught 4th grade....it was great! I created a canopy of Cypress Trees with "moss" hanging from the branches for my computer area which I called the "Cyber Swamp"....

For my writing area, I used the Zatarains' [a very tasty brand of Cajun foods] logo and a chef for the various stages of the writing process...

Just some ideas....
jesnacc is offline   Reply With Quote

mommy2two

Do you have any pictures??