Help

Special Education

1st Year Teacher Needs Advice!

>

kasher72

1st Year Teacher Needs Advice!
Old 04-28-2010, 03:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher teaching K-2 Special Ed. Each grade level regular ed teacher has all the IEP kids and one teacher has the only 2 kids with autism in the whole district. I am the case manager for these 2 kids and have instruction with them 40 min a day. The general ed teacher does not involve me in anything with these students. She never informs me about their academics even when I ask.The special ed team for these students meet every Tuesday. She picked the dates and times when I have other students in my room and said its not her problem I cant come. She will schedule meetings with the students' next year teachers and leave me out and when I confront her about she tells me she doesnt care if I come or not. She acts like she is the special education teacher and my job means nothing to her. She is young and has only been teaching for 3 years so you would think she would want to help me out, but I just feel she is judging everything I do and trying to make me sink. I was taught all through college that special edcation is left out and isolated but not when everything that is going on is about my students. I love having my students and I want to be involved in every aspect, but they wont allow me.

Any advice on what should I do to become more involved with the special ed team when I am the special educator and how should I deal with the day to day neglect. I just want to come home from work without crying because of one teacher!

kasher72 is offline   Reply With Quote

mrsh66

Old 04-28-2010, 04:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2