Help

Special Education

"Potential Harmful Effect" in LRE section of IEPs

>

Haley23

"Potential Harmful Effect" in LRE section of IEPs
Old 05-07-2017, 02:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I feel like this is a dumb question, but can someone help me out with this? My state has now decided that SPED directors will "self-audit" IEPs and one of mine was pulled. My director said I had to fix the LRE section because I didn't describe the "potentional harmful effect."

I've been teaching SPED for 6 years and have never heard of this . All of my kids are in the "At least 80% in gen ed" placement, which is the least restrictive choice. Am I supposed to be saying the potential harmful effect of them being in the 80-100% placement vs. the 40-79% placement, or the potential harmful effect of them being pulled out some vs. being in 100% full inclusion (100% full inclusion isn't an official placement choice)?

I usually say something like, "This placement best meets Johnny's needs because it will allow him to the spend the majority of his day in his general education classroom with general education peers while also allowing him to receive some specialized instruction outside of the general education classroom where instruction can be tailored to his individual needs to address specific skill deficits." Knowing that my district is pushing 100% inclusion and I typically still pull my kids out some, sometimes I'll add something like, "Johnny is currently working on below grade level skills that are no longer being taught in general education at x grade, so it would not meet his needs for him to spend 100% of his day within the general education classroom with support with grade level curriculum only." Can someone give me an example of what I would need to add to this to explain "potential harmful effect?"