Help

The VENT

Behavior chart/other kids joining in

>

Loveandmercy

Behavior chart/other kids joining in
Old 12-09-2019, 05:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Oh my gosh. I am struggling with a student who all day long berates me under his breath, protests what I ask the class to do something, says assignment is dumb, says school is boring, says he hates school. Had a meeting with parents last week. They are bewildered. Chlld is hijacking my classroom, which was previously well behaved. I am a seasoned teacher but I have never seen anything like this child. One day sweet and hardworking, next insults me, mean lingering looks, sometimes shouts at me in class. TOmorrow school counselor will meet with him again. He is going for outside help but man today he shut down instruction almost entirely. I have a new behavior chart for tomorrow all based on positive points for positive behavior. Gets a reward when him earns all the points.
We will see. I try very hard to keep it detached but positive.
Question: Any suggestions about how to steer four boys away from this one student? He is massively manipulative so he is "campaigning" against me and turning kids against me. ABout 4 boys are smiling now when this one child starts up. Acting disrespectfully towards me. What a day...thank you for listening..

Loveandmercy is offline   Reply With Quote

momteachsis

Some suggestions
Old 12-09-2019, 05:45 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You need to make the good behavior for the other kids a more positive experience than the thrill they're getting from siding with the kid causing trouble.
I teach in Special Ed, but we're taught to ignore the wrong behavior and reward the positive for many of the problem behaviors. What is more effective in most cases lately is rewarding the kids that are doing the correct things, while the other student gets nothing.