Help

High School

Question about Praxis tests

>

teacherwriter

Question about Praxis tests
Old 07-26-2013, 02:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm excited to see the new board! I plan to pop in periodically, although I don't currently teach HS. Here's my question. I'm licensed K-12, but have never taken the Praxis tests for high school English. (They, ahem, didn't exist when I graduated from college the first time. ) I have one more year under my current licensure to take them and secure the highly qualified rating. Completing the tests would give me more options, but to be honest, I'm not sure I can pull off the studying/relearning in one year while teaching full time. I'd have to reread a lot of books! The tests are ELA Content Knowledge, 5038, and Principles of Learning and Teaching, Grades 7-12, 5624. If you've taken either or both of these tests recently, let me know what you think.

teacherwriter is offline   Reply With Quote

Ruby tunes

Praxis experience
Old 07-27-2013, 01:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You are where I was 19 years ago. I had a K-12 credential and loved teaching elementary school. But then after almost accidentally teaching two summer school sessions at the high school level, I was offered a job teaching English there, and decided to go for it. However, I had to take the Praxis in English to be able to do that during the regular school year. I have always been pretty good at high pressure tests, so I was not too concerned. And I did pass it with good scores the first time. What helped me was the book, "An Incomplete Education." In particular, I reviewed the section on literature so the names, dates, titles, and literary movements would be fresh in my mind. A couple hours each day for the two days just prior to the exam was all I needed to do. I know of others who also passed the exam without too much trouble, and I hope you will be as fortunate.