Help

Intervention & Title I Services

I'm reorganizing

>

cbangert

I'm reorganizing
Old 03-23-2007, 05:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

In 2006 I posted a message that I was very frustrated with my job being that I was an inclusion Title 1 teacher and I felt like a glorified aide. This year I spoke with my principal and superintendent and am revamping the Title math program. Next year in 7th grade, I will get to pull my students from their regular math class for the time that the teacher spends in teaching a concept. I will now be able to teach the concept in chunks and be able to work with my small group on concepts they don't understand. With my 5/6th grade classes, my students will be taking Title math as one of their electives, during the 2nd and 3rd quarters. These are the quarters when all math teachers are really preparing for the state tests that are given in March. I will primarily be working on the tested standards with my students. They will be working with manipulatives, playing games and using the computer for remediation. I will also have time to work with them on their math facts, which is something I've never had time to do. With this schedule I will get to use differentiated instruction with my students, which is exactly what they need because that's how they learn best. In the regular classroom, the teacher doesn't have enough time to spend with this type of instruction and therefore my students fall farther behind. Also with this new schedule, I'm hoping to "catch them up" as much as I can before state testing. I know we're not suppose to "teach to the test" but with so much pressure put on us about state scores, we have to. I wanted to share with you the solution that I came up with for my dilemma and hopefully give some of you an idea of what you could possibly do if you're in the same boat as I was. Thanks for all of your helpful suggestions.

cbangert is offline   Reply With Quote

change2R

Old 03-23-2007, 09:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2