Intervention & Title I Services

Title open-should I go for it?

>

Karoline

Karoline

Title open-should I go for it?
Old 05-17-2008, 04:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have been a classroom teacher for eons and now a spot is open in Title. What can I expect to do? I have never worked beyond 2nd grade and quite frankly the upper grades 4th and 5th are foreign territory so I do not know what to expect as far as Math and reading. Would you be able to give me an idea of what to expect? Thanks a bunch

MrsM

Old 05-18-2008, 03:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You will work with the kids needing extra help. Each school can make it look differently, but I think the majority have pull-out for 30 minutes a day, every day. There will be paperwork to complete, I do this every fall and every spring. You may administer tests to find your kids, or you may simply have to collect test scores. You will probably set your own schedule by talking with the teachers. Kids are not supposed to be missing any curriculum instruction in the classroom when they are gone to see you. There are restrictions on what you can use your supply money for. Basically, if it's something you would repair if it doesn't work, you can't buy it. (That's how it was explained to me.) You will need to plan cooperatively with all the classroom teachers, and share information as to what concepts need work, or what is being taught in the classroom that you can support with more practice or explanation. Usually you are not responsible for grades at all, but I send a progress report home with my Title I Reading kids. That's a form someone here on PT shared. Check out posts by LaVerne, she's finishing her first or second year (time flies, I can't remember) as a Title I teacher after being in the classroom many years. She enjoyed the change! I've never taught in the classroom, only student teaching and 8 years of subbing. After 10 years in Title I, I wouldn't want to do anything else.