The VENT

Quitting my job

>

1styr=lastyr

1styr=lastyr

Quitting my job
Old 03-30-2012, 03:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have decided to quit my job. Well, technically I'm not "quitting" I'm just not going back next year. This job isn't enjoyable, I dread going to work each day, and it is taking a toll on my health. DH and I decided that we can do without the money for now. Sad part is, I'm a first year teacher. I knew it'd be hard, and I'm not afraid of hard work, but I didn't know I'd be so unhappy and stressed. My only support is retiring this year, and honestly I don't know if I could make it through each day without her, as the others I work closely with are just dreadful. I hate that I went to college for nothing, but I just feel like the best decision for me is to not return next year. The only reason I haven't put in my notice already is for the kids, and also I don't want to burn any bridges. I want to have the opportunity to go back in the future, just in case. I don't really know what I'm asking for from this post... maybe prayers to get through the last couple months?? Also, the few select family members I've told about my decision say to wait until the school year is over to let my principal know. They're scared she'll be upset and give me bad evals, etc. Do you think it's best to wait until the end of the year?

teachnkids

Old 03-30-2012, 03:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

If there is notihnig you have to sign about returning the following year at this time, I would wait.

Don't give up on teaching. The scholl might not have been a good fit for you. You might also be able tofind a part time job.

When you do give notice, do not give reasons about the job. Say it's a personal decision.
teachnkids is offline   Reply With Quote

Illini Teacher

Yes, wait.
Old 03-30-2012, 05:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3