The VENT

Do suck ups get ahead

>

1styearteac2

1styearteac2

Do suck ups get ahead
Old 12-30-2012, 05:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher. I am authentic and just me. I don't believe in using people so I don't suck up. I am introverted so don't go out of my way to be talkative but am well-mannered. I am a very dedicated and hard worker and take my job seriously. I kind of get the feeling I'd get further ahead if I worked less and socialized and sucked up more. Thoughts?

cutecat

Old 12-31-2012, 09:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am introverted too, but I am also dependable, loyal, and hard working. I think it is more important to live your life being true to yourself and being of good character. I find that the people I respect are the ones that treat others kindly, are humble, and don't need the spotlight to shine. Just keep being you!
cutecat is offline   Reply With Quote
Grade1Mermaid

Grade1Mermaid

Sucking Up?
Old 12-31-2012, 09:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

IMO, initiating conversations and giving compliments is being personable, which people will notice. At work I know people on 2 levels. I know people by their work ethic and I know them as what kind of 'person' they are. (obviously not everyone in the building) People will notice your hard work, but they'll also notice if you're funny, witty, etc. I understand you're more reserved, which is your perogative. Everyone is different and that's what makes the world go 'round. Just do you and continue to work hard.