The VENT

Professional Growth Plan for Improvement

>

1styear101

1styear101

Professional Growth Plan for Improvement
Old 02-28-2013, 07:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

This is my first year of teaching. I learned today the principal will put me on an improvement plan for classroom management for the end of the year through next year. What does this mean in terms of job security? In addition, she told me I must come up with things (wasn't specific) for the plan before our meeting at the end of the week. What type of things is she looking for? Thanks!

GreyhoundGirl

Old 02-28-2013, 07:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Well, if it's through next year I would take that as a good sign. It means she's willing to invest in you and your improvement. Improvement plans aren't the end of the world and they're not a death sentence to your career; especially as a first year teacher.

If you have a mentor, talk to her. If you don't, I would definitely put that as one of the things that would help you improve. Also, look at your management; where are the areas that you're struggling? Transition? Discipline (Too much? Not enough?) What have you tried? What do your teammates/colleagues do? I would look at a colleague who you think has great management and pick his/her brain. I would pick one or 2 areas to focus on for your improvement; if you make it too big you're going to fail. Pick the one or 2 areas of classroom management that you think need the most improvement and focus on those.

Also, read some books (I LOVE "Love and Logic", especially for the older kids) for some ideas. That would be something else for the meeting: come in with ideas and ask her what she would recommend.

I think she was nonspecific because she wanted you to come up with ideas for you to use for improvement.

Good luck.
GreyhoundGirl is offline   Reply With Quote

wordygirl

Old 02-28-2013, 08:41 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3