Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

Teachers' Lounge

Christmas gifts for classroom TA's

>

musicmeg222

Christmas gifts for classroom TA's
Old 11-17-2019, 05:54 PM

This is my first year as a teacher and I have three classroom TA's (2 female, 1 male). I know I don't have to, but I feel obligated to get them a small Christmas gift but I have no idea what to get them. I know they enjoy working with students (obviously) and two of them like coffee since they bring their own coffee in every morning. Other than that, I'm not really sure what else they really like.

Here is my opinion about gift cards: They are wonderful to give when you don't know what someone may want or need and you can prevent getting someone something they already have or don't want or need. On the other hand, sometimes I think of gift cards as non-creative gifts. I can give someone a gift card that sends the message "Here, I didn't know what else to get you, so go buy something yourself that you may want". Since I have this opinion about gift cards, I'm not really sure about giving those to my TA's.

Can someone give me gift suggestions? If you have TA's, what have you given them in the past? What are you giving them this year? Should I give all three the same gift? Please help!! Any tips, recommendations, or suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

musicmeg222 is offline   Reply With Quote

Zia

Old 11-17-2019, 06:07 PM

I've been with my aide for more than a decade. I buy her the Costco-sized MEGA JUG of Crown. You have three and it's your first year, so that probably isn't appropriate.

I agree, gift cards are impersonal. If you know one of them loves nuts, buy him/her a jar of fancy mixed nuts. M&M addict?

Do you bake? A tin of cookies is nearly always appreciated. Do you knit? A beanie or scarf is a lovely, one-of-a-kind gift.
Zia is online now   Reply With Quote

ar719

Old 11-17-2019, 06:14 PM

Coffee shop gift card and a donut? Bring in lunch one day from Jimmy Johns?