Help

Substitute Teachers

Very Helpful or Know it All

>

jazzynanny196

Very Helpful or Know it All
Old 11-18-2017, 12:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

How do I get it across to mostly 5K-5th graders that I do not need them to interject (every 10 minutes) that Mr/Ms _________ would do this or that and that it is time for this or that? I try to communicate to the class each morning that I have a plan left by their teacher and although it may be a little different than they are used to it's under control. This is my first year as a substitute but I am not a retired teacher. My background in Accounting and Bookkeeping.

Thanks!

JazzyNanny

jazzynanny196 is offline   Reply With Quote

rcmn

Old 11-18-2017, 12:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My normal response to "Ms. ____ always let us....." is something along the lines of, "great! Then that's how you'll be doing it tomorrow!" :-)
rcmn is offline   Reply With Quote

mommysubs

Well on my planet...
Old 11-18-2017, 03:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I calmly inform those students that substitutes are from a different planet and the transmission of "he/she/they always let us do x" always gets lost between our very different galaxies, so we will just abide by the guidelines from planet substitute for today, and then you will resume x with your regular earth teacher. If anything, it gets them to crack a smile, think I am crazy, and stop trying to mess with me throughout the day!
mommysubs is offline   Reply With Quote

Kailey123

Old 11-18-2017, 03:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I just keep repeating over and over "this is what we're doing because it's my job to follow Mrs. Teacher's plans" and then I wave the plans at them.

Or, I say some version of "Well I am not Mrs. Teacher, but when she gets back tomorrow you can talk to her about it."
Kailey123 is offline   Reply With Quote

pumpkincake

Old 11-18-2017, 03:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

Hope you find a way soon

pumpkincake is offline   Reply With Quote

Mikhail