Help

The VENT

Lice

>

Violet4

Lice
Old 10-06-2019, 04:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm no doctor but this article has made me very concerned. Shall we also allow our students to be exposed to stomach flu so as to not inconvenience families or embarrass them?

https://slate.com/human-interest/201...t-em-stay.html

Violet4 is offline   Reply With Quote

arsabl

Lice
Old 10-06-2019, 04:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My school has the policy that if lice are found the parents are notified and the child goes home for the day. They can return the next day after a lice treatment. Iím not a fan of this policy, but Iím powerless.

In practice, I havenít seen the lice spread to other children in the classroom so far. The past two years, Iíve had several students with lice constantly.

Lice are icky.
arsabl is offline   Reply With Quote

marguerite2

Old 10-06-2019, 04:50 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Quote:
Parents are expected to treat the lice, but no one is checking in to enforce this expectation
If no one is checking, and parents aren't treating, then ...

While the author of this article seems to have no problem with her child having a constant life infection, most parents would. The longer your child has lice, the more likely it is to spread to the adults in the household. I wonder how adult workplaces react to adults with untreated lice infections.
marguerite2 is online now   Reply With Quote

Lilbitkm

Old 10-06-2019, 05:45 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

In our school students have to be nit free before they can return. The school nurse checks them upon return. I had a student out 4 days with lice recently, tried to come back twice before the nurse actually cleared her.

The nurse also checks the entire class and sends home letters informing parents that a child in the class had lice.
Lilbitkm is offline   Reply With Quote

GoodEnough85

Look at the date on the article.
Old 10-06-2019, 05:52 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5